Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 28th, 2008

Red Velet and a Favor

During the Fall and Thanksgiving season this year I was blessed with MANY…yummy new recipes to try; but NONE could top  this amazing recipe that by sweet friend Christy shared with me.  I made oodles of patches….some for home, some for church, and some for work.  To say my co-workers LOVE Pumpkin Whoopie pies would seriously be an understatement.  In fact, this past Tuesday as we were (once again) dreaming….I mean, talking about the Pumpkin Whoopie pies we began to wonder if we could make them….sorta like a Red Velvet cake????  

My co-workers and I wrapped up our conversation and got back to work.  As I was wrapping up my day, I picked up a magazine that someone dropped off at my desk and I thought I’d take a few minutes and thumb through the recipes before I left for home; and you’ll NEVER guess what recipe I found!!!???
Red Velvet Whoopie Pies!!!!!!  I was so excited, and now, I want to share them with you.  
2-Cups of flour
2 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 Cup butter, softened
1 Cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 Cup buttermilk
1-1 oz. bottle of red food coloring (2 Tbsp.)
1 recipe Whoopie Pie filling below
Preheat oer to 375 degrees
Line baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside.  In medium bowl combine flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.
In large mixing bowl beat butter on medium high 30 seconds.  Beat in brown sugar until light and fluffy.  Beat in egg and vanilla.  Alternately add flour mixture and buttermilk, beating after each addition just until combined. Stir in food coloring.
Spoon batter in 1 or 2 inch diameter rounds about 1/2 inch high on prepared baking sheet, allowing 1 inch between each round.
Bake 7 to 9 minutes for 1-inch cookies or 9 to 11 minutes for 2-inch cookies, or until tops are set.  Cool completely on baking sheet on rack.  Remove cooled cookies from baking sheet.
Whoopie Pie Filling:
In a medium mixing bowl beat 1/4 Cup softened butter and half an 8-oz package softened cream cheese until smooth.  Fold in one 7-oz jar marshmallow creme.
To fill, dollop Whoopie Pie Filling on flat sides of half the cookies.  Top with remaining cookie, flat side down.
These look SO yummy and they are my list of things I’m planning to make this weekend.
Now that I’ve wet your appetite with this yummy treat, I’ll move on to a FAVOR I’d like to ask of you! 
This week, I’ve met a precious “Bloggie-Sister” and I’ve SO enjoyed meeting her (via email) and visiting her blog.  
Her name is Judy, and you can visit her blog here, at “Just A Little Something.”  Girls, Judy truly is an amazing woman.  She been married for 33 years, and is the Mother of 3 grown beautiful girls, and a Grandma to 4 precious grandchildren.
I’ve spent A LOT of time….reading through her blog and let me tell you….she is someone you will be glad you’ve met, and you will visit again…and again…and again.
Her heart is SO precious…and she shares SO many wonderful recipes, crafts, and photos.
Let’s Welcome Judy to the  blog-world….and Bless her…and I know, she will bless you as well.
Happy Friday. 

Read Full Post »